Build SDS non-English (tab)

Details           Managing help

Quick start

This tab enables you to generate the SDS in a non-English language, based upon the information you have entered on the previous tabs (SDS Sections 1-16), principally in the non-English fields that are associated with the English fields. The SDS appears in a word processing area, which occupies most of the space on this tab.

For general guidance, refer to the Managing help box, below.

Steps

1.     Display mode (button) — Ensure that this button title is “Non-Eng” or “Both”. If it is “English”, then the program will not check the non-English field contents.

2.     Alternate language setting — Verify that you have selected a non-English language for the SDS, in the Alternate language drop-down menu, at the upper right on the entry form.

Ladue500_SSD:Users:djlapin:Desktop:Screen Shot 2019-04-30 at 4.43.56 PM.png

If you select a language that has an asterisk (*), then the section and subsection titles on the generated SDS will be in the selected language. Otherwise, these titles will be in English.

Note that the language setting affects only the generated SDS on this ("Build SDS non-English") tab. It has no effect on the "Build SDS" tab.

3.     Begin — Click on the (Build) SDS button, and select the non-English language from the button menu. If you don’t see a non-English option listed, then ensure that you have completed the previous step, Alternate language setting.

Ladue500_SSD:Users:djlapin:Desktop:Screen Shot 2020-06-08 at 4.35.20 PM.png

4.     Completeness check — The program evaluates the completeness of the information you have entered for the SDS. If it identifies potential errors, warnings, or missing items, it will present an "Items may need to be addressed" dialog.

Ladue500_SSD:Users:djlapin:Desktop:Screen Shot 2019-04-30 at 3.53.29 PM.png
"Items may need to be addressed" dialog.

If you do not see this dialog, skip down to the "Overwrite existing content" step.

5.     Show items — If you do see the "Items may need to be addressed" dialog, click on the Show items button. A list of "action items" will appear next.


"Action items" list.

6.     Resolve action items — The priority for items in burgundy text is "1 Req", which means that they are generally required to complete the SDS. In this illustration, if you were to double click on the Physical - color [NE] entry, the program would take you to the field location, which would be empty:


"Physical - color [NE]" field is empty (“9 Phys-chem props” tab).

You would be able to eliminate this action item from the list by entering text into the field.

7.     Check action items again — Click on the green progress thermometer (lower left on the SDS entry form) to re-display the action items list. Are there other items in color text? If so, repeat the previous step until you have fixed as many items as you can.

NOTES:

1. In the action items list, items in black text are optional, but may be important for your SDS. Consider addressing those items before generating your "final" SDS.

2. Regarding the green progress thermometer, the upper bar accounts for all action items (including the optional ones), while the lower bar considers only required, warning, and error items. The bar positions may change depending on the Display mode button setting, as noted in Step 1.

8.     Begin again — When you are ready, click again on the (Build) SDS button and select the non-English language from the button menu. If the program displays the "Items may need to be addressed" dialog once more (because you could not resolve all color-text action items), click on the Continue anyway button.

9.     Overwrite existing content — If text or graphics is/are already present in the word processing area (where the newly-generated SDS will appear), the program will ask you to confirm that it's okay to replace the existing content. This action will not remove any information you have entered on other SDS form locations/tabs — just the word processing area on this tab. Click on the OK button to proceed.

If you do not see this request, skip to the next step.

Ladue500_SSD:Users:djlapin:Desktop:Screen Shot 2019-04-29 at 8.13.31 AM.png
Confirmation to overwrite existing content, word processing area.

10.  Select SDS generation options — Next, the program presents a dialog containing a variety of options for customizing both the content and the appearance of the generated SDS. You can experiment with different settings, or stay with the default settings. (Click on the Defaults button to return to the default settings.) As long as you save the SDS record following SDS generation, the program will remember your generation option selections.


"Select SDS generation options" dialog, main tab.

11.  Build the SDS — Click on the OK button to run the SDS generation operation. The SDS will appear in the word processing area.

12.  Save the SDS record — Click on the Interim save button (disk icon, lower right) or the Done button on the SDS form, to save your work. The generated SDS is part of the SDS record, so saving the SDS record also saves the generated SDS. If you instead click on the Cancel button, then the generated SDS won't be preserved; nor will any revisions or other entries you have made since you last saved the SDS record.

13.  Experiment (optional) — If you would like to view the effects different generation options, click on the (Build) SDS button again (the Begin again step), and revise the settings in the "Select SDS generation options" dialog.

14.  Print SDS — The word processing area has its own menu bar; from that menu bar, select "File -> Print" or "File -> Print Preview". Because the SDS can be a long document, you may want to print to your monitor screen first, before printing to paper. If your computer has a Portable Document Format (PDF) print driver, you can generate a pdf directly using the "File -> Print" command.

Ladue500_SSD:Users:djlapin:Desktop:Screen Shot 2019-04-30 at 5.02.07 PM.png
Print the SDS (from the word processing area menu bar).

15.  Save copy to disk (optional) — If desired, you can save a copy of the SDS to a separate file on disk, by selecting "File -> Save as…" from the word processing area's menu bar. Save in the native format (".4w7") or in a Microsoft® Word-compatible format (".doc" or ".rtf").

Ladue500_SSD:Users:djlapin:Desktop:Screen Shot 2019-04-30 at 5.03.50 PM.png

Ladue500_SSD:Users:djlapin:Desktop:Screen Shot 2019-04-29 at 9.32.17 AM.png
Save SDS to an external file on disk.

 

NOTE: SDS graphics (e.g., pictograms) may lose some of their original sharpness when printed from an external word processing program. For best results, print directly from the word processing area.

 

 


Managing help

·       If this help window opened automatically when you started the program, then you have automatic help turned on. To change automatic help, click on the “Auto-help is” on/off pushbutton, on this window.

Ladue500_SSD:Users:djlapin:Desktop:Screen Shot 2019-03-27 at 1.44.22 PM.png

·       When automatic help is off, you can display or refresh this help window manually, by using the [Ctrl]-9 shortcut (“Background for this section”).[1]

Ladue500_SSD:Users:djlapin:Desktop:Screen Shot 2019-03-27 at 1.49.09 PM.png

·       To get an overview:

o   Take the Brief tour on how the SDS entry form works:

§  Entering SDS content

§  Navigating the form

§  Shortcuts and convenience features

§  Translation features

§  Generating the SDS and GHS labels

To start the tour, click on the Help button and select “Brief tour”.

o   Watch the video on this tab (click on the Video button, if the label is in blue text).

o   Navigate to Tab "1 Identification" and view or refresh the background help. Read the section, “Features common to most SDS form sections/tabs”.

·       For brief tips, hover with your mouse over the object of interest.

·       To get assistance on a particular field: Click into the field, then click on the Help button, and select “Guide this item” (shortcut: [Ctrl]-5).

·       To get stepwise assistance for all areas on this tab: Click on the Help button and select “Guide this section” (shortcut: [Ctrl]-6).

·       To learn additional details and requirements, read the details section, immediately below.

 

 

 

 

Build SDS non-English (tab) — details

Word processing area

(Build) SDS (button with menu)

SDS generation options (dialog)

Tab 1 — Main and sections

Main selection

SDS format to use

Don't print subsection numbers

Minimum indent

Options for specific SDS Sections

Section 2 – Hazard identification

Hazard pictograms Size ___ points (30-200)

Show GHS pictogram names

Hazard classification listings

Do not include chapters or citations in the description

Adjust to the GHS revision of the SDS, if possible

Hazard (H-) statements without H-codes

Paragraph-style precautionary (P-) statements

Section 3 – Composition/information on ingredients

Compact

CAS column

(Omit:) Cmpnt synonyms

(Omit:) Index nbrs

(Omit:) EC nbrs

Include English ingredient names on a non-English SDS

Section 8 – Exposure controls/personal protection

Group exposure information by CAS number

Substitute for chemical names claimed as trade secrets. (Also applies to Sects. 11, 12, 15.)

Section 9 – Physical-chemical properties

Property order

Use Canadian subtitles (“UN” SDS fmt. only)

Section 15 – Regulatory information

Include NFPA and HMIS ratings as text only (no symbols)

Merge separate listings for the same regulation

Tab 2 — Style options

Rebuild style sheets (advanced topic)

Font options

Use an alternate font (default is Arial)

Reduce standard font sizes by ___ points

Case correction (English SDSs only)

Section header options

Use colors

Border rectangle ___ pts.

Additional spacing ___ (~0.063 or higher to add space)

Page header options

Header style

Compact

Standard

Std no cmpny name 1

Std no cmpny name 2

Carriage return after logo (“Standard” hdr. p.1 only, places company on a separate line)

SDS serial no., version, and issue date in header (also removes from footers)

Company logo

Logo scaling ___ percent (zero for actual size, or range 20-200)

 

Word processing area

This tab enables you to generate (produce) a non-English-language SDS, based upon the content from the previous entry form tabs. The SDS will appear in a word processing area, where you can further customize or edit the contents. When you save the SDS record by clicking on the Interim save (disk icon) button or the Done button, the program will also save the generated SDS, as part of the record. Additionally, you can save the generated SDS as a separate document on disk.


Word processing area, "Build SDS non-English" tab.

The word processing area occupies most of the space on this page. The generated SDS in this area is a fully editable document. You can move text, change fonts, add spaces, underlining, italics, etc., as desired. Because the "Build" capability in SDScribe™ makes use of style sheets, you can further customize the look of the generated document in a consistent way, by editing one or more style sheets rather than directly editing the text in the document. The name of each style sheet appears just above the ruler, when you click into an area of the SDS[2].

For convenience, you can view and/or edit the SDS in a larger window. Click on the small "zoom" box in the upper-right corner of the word processing area. In the larger window, click on the zoom button again to return to the normal view.

The word processor area has its own menu bar, with menus to perform a variety of functions ("File", "Edit", "View", "Insert", "Style", "Colors", etc.). To print the SDS, select "File -> Print" from the menu bar.  

To save the SDS as a separate document on disk, select "File -> Save As", and the program will present a dialog ("4D Write Export:") to select the location and format. Among others, the supported formats include Microsoft® Word (".doc"), Rich Text (".rtf"), HTML, and plain text. This feature allows you to edit the SDS in your word processor, if you prefer to work that way.

Ladue500_SSD:Users:djlapin:Desktop:Screen Shot 2019-04-29 at 9.32.17 AM.png
Saving an SDS to disk.

The pictograms on the SDS may look better on paper when directly printed from within the program's word processing area. The reason is that the bitmapped graphics may pass through additional conversion steps for a different format, causing the images to appear somewhat fuzzy or blurred.

If you have a PDF print driver installed on your computer, you can also save the generated SDS on disk in PDF format by selecting "File -> Print…"

(Build) SDS (button with menu)

Use this button to start the process of generating the SDS document.  The program will:

·       Perform a completeness check on the SDS information you have already entered;

·       Confirm that you wish to overwrite existing content in the word processing area (if any);

·       Present a dialog of SDS generation options, so that you can customize the SDS for certain content and style options; and

·       Generate the SDS in the word processing area.

 

(A stepwise discussion of these actions appears in the "Quick start" section, at the top.)

SDS generation options (dialog)

After you have clicked on the (Build) SDS button and selected the non-English language, but prior to SDS generation, the program will display a "Select SDS generation options..." dialog, prompting you to select an SDS format to use. You can select additional options/customizations as well. The discussion that follows presents these settings.

If you saved the SDS record after you last generated an SDS (for any product), the program should have remembered the settings you selected.

Tab 1 — Main and sections


SDS generation options dialog, "Main and sections" (first) tab.

Main selection

SDS format to use

The program presently supports two SDS formats: UN and EU-ECHA.

The EU-ECHA format is most relevant to member states of the European Union and European Economic Area (EU/EEA), as well as to Great Britain. It includes additional subsections and reflects the more extensive requirements of the EU regulations. The EU-ECHA format also appends the relevant hazard (H-) statement codes to each GHS hazard classification listed for the product (SDS Section 2).

The UN format is somewhat simpler, and is applicable to a wider range of countries.

Don't print subsection numbers

The SDS consists of sixteen main sections, with the UN specifying the text and numbering for the main section titles[3].

Specifications for the information contained within each section are more content-based than format-based, however. You have some leeway in how you display the necessary content.

This program default is to include subsection numbers in decimal format. For example, SECTION 1: Identification in the UN format includes subsection titles starting with:

1.1 Product identifier
1.2 Other means of identification
(etc.)

If you do not want the subsection titles to have prefixing numbers, then check the "Don't print subsection numbers" box.

Some regulatory authorities, including the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA)[4], require specific subsection titles that include the numbers. If you are preparing an SDS for a regulatory authority other than US-OSHA, then you should determine whether subsection numbering is needed.

Minimum indent

When this box is not checked the program indents both the subsection titles and the textual content of the subsections by 0.4 inches (about 1 cm) from the left margin. The subsection numbers will appear at the left margin.

To reduce the indentation from 0.4 inches to 0.1 inches, check the "Minimum indent" box.

NOTE: The "Minimum indent" option requires the "Don't print subsection numbers" option. Thus, for SDSs destined for EU/EEA jurisdictions, you should not check this box.

Options for specific SDS Sections

Section 2 – Hazard identification
Hazard pictograms Size ___ points (30-200)

This setting specifies the size of the pictograms that appear in Section 2 (Hazard identification) of the generated SDS.

The program by default uses a value of 48 points. Regulatory agencies typically have either size or visibility requirements for pictograms on labels, but generally not on the SDS. However, Australia specifies a pictogram size on the SDS of between 1 x 1 cm and 2 x 2 cm.[5]

Show GHS pictogram names

Checking this box places the descriptions of the pictograms beneath the pictogram graphics, in the generated SDS. The descriptions may be required by some countries' regulatory authorities.[6]

Hazard classification listings
Do not include chapters or citations in the description

This option applies only to English-language SDSs. For details, refer to the background help on Tab "Build SDS".

Adjust to the GHS revision of the SDS, if possible

This option applies only to English-language SDSs. For details, refer to the background help on Tab "Build SDS".

Hazard (H-) statements without H-codes

List the hazard statements without using including the H-code as a prefix. With or without this option, each hazard statement appears on a separate line.

Paragraph-style precautionary (P-) statements

This option places the precautionary statements in paragraph format, without the associated P-codes as prefixes to each one. Without this option, each P-statement appears on a separate line, with the associated P-code as a prefix.

Section 3 – Composition/information on ingredients
Compact

Checking this box will cause some of the contents of the Component table on Tab "3 Composition" to appear inside a rectangular area similar to a table, rather than as paragraph text. The option also omits component synonyms, if any. In compact format, Section 3 generally requires less space, particularly if there are many ingredients.


Compact format option, Section 3.

This option requires the "Omit: Cmpnt synonyms" box to be checked as well.

CAS column

Normally the compact format has two “columns”, one for component name and the other for concentration. This option inserts an additional column for CAS number, between the two. When this box is not checked and a CAS number exists for the chemical, the CAS number instead appears immediately after the component name.


Compact format with CAS column option, Section 3. Also selected are the options that omit index and EC numbers, which would otherwise appear immediately after the component name.

(Omit:) Cmpnt synonyms

When this box is not checked, the program will print the synonyms that appear for each ingredient in the components table on Tab "3 Composition" ("Common name (1st); synonym(s)" column). Depending upon how many ingredients the product contains, the synonyms may require a significant amount of additional space, making the overall SDS a much longer document.

To remove the ingredient synonyms from the SDS, check this box.

(Omit:) Index nbrs

This option omits the index numbers that appear in the first column of the table of harmonised entries, in Annex VI of the EU CLP regulation. When this box is not checked and an index number is available for the chemical, it appears immediately after the component name.

(Omit:) EC nbrs

This option omits the European Commission (EC) number for the chemical. When this box is not checked and an EC number exists for the chemical, it appears immediately after the component name.

Include English ingredient names on a non-English SDS

Some countries may require that a non-English SDS also include the English-language names of ingredients (China is currently one example). Having accessible English names may be particularly useful where the official language does not use the Latin alphabet.

Section 8 – Exposure controls/personal protection
Group exposure information by CAS number

When the box is checked, the program groups exposure-related parameters by the CAS number of the chemical, and does not include any information from the "Basis/monitoring notes" column of the Exposure table (Tab "8.1 Exposure-protection").

Description: Ladue_HD1000:Users:djlapin:Desktop:Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 7.52.02 PM.png
Group exposure information by CAS number, Section 8.

When the box is not checked, the program lists each exposure parameter individually, and in the order of appearance of the items in the exposure table.

Substitute for chemical names claimed as trade secrets. (Also applies to Sects. 11, 12, 15.)

In the Component table on Tab "3 Composition" of the entry form, if you have checked the "Name w/h" column for any of the components, then program will use a placeholder name in Section 3 of the generated SDS, like "Component 1 (trade secret)", instead of the real ingredient name. This substitution also occurs in:

·       SDS Section 8 (data from Tab "8.1 Exposure-protection"), if the name-withheld ingredient appears in the Exposure table;

·       SDS Section 11 (data from Tabs "11.1 Toxicological", "11.2 Toxicological", and "11.3 Toxicological") where the real name appears in any of the toxicity paragraphs;

·       Section 12 (data from Tab "12 Ecological") if the real name appears in any of the ecotoxicity paragraphs.

·       Section 15: data from Tabs “15.1 Regulatory” (Regulations table) and “15.2 Regulatory” (“Chemical Safety Assessment” field).

 

If you have not checked the "Name w/h" column for a particular ingredient in the Component table, but you have instead entered a name into the "Alternative/generic name" column, then the program will substitute that name for the real ingredient name.

In the case of SDS Sections 11, 12, and 15, the substitutions will not occur if there are differences in spelling, punctuation, or abbreviations, no matter how minor; nor does it recognize synonyms for the real ingredient names. As an example, if you checked “Name w/h” for a component named “Sodium borate anhydrous” in the Component table, and the same component appears in the Regulations table as “Boron sodium oxide (B4Na2O7)”, the substitution will not occur.

Because of these limitations, after you generate the SDS, you should carefully proofread these sections to verify the changes.

Section 9 – Physical-chemical properties
Property order

Use this drop-down menu to select the order of appearance for individual physical-chemical properties in Section 9.

UN standard (default order)

Select this option to present the required physical-chemical properties in the order of their appearance in UN GHS rev. 7.

Properties from earlier GHS revisions that are no longer required will still appear near their previous locations, provided that their corresponding fields are not empty. For example, the Odor threshold property (no longer required as a separate item) will appear following the Odor property, if you have entered content into the Odor threshold field.

US-OSHA 2012

Select this option to present the physical-chemical properties in the order of their appearance in US-OSHA 2012 regulations (29 CFR §1910.1200 Appendix D). The properties added in GHS rev. 7 and in subsequent revisions will then appear after the last of the OSHA 2012 properties, provided that their respective fields are not empty.

Canada 2022

This option is essentially the same as the “UN standard” option, except that the earlier properties that are no longer required will appear after the GHS rev. 7-required properties, if the respective fields are not empty.

Use Canadian subtitles (“UN” SDS fmt. only)

Check this box if you wish to use the Canadian WHMIS or WHMIS 2022 names for each physical-chemical property. The Canadian property names in some cases differ slightly from the UN or US-OSHA names.

The Canadian subtitles option does not apply to the EU-ECHA SDS format, which has more specific titling/labeling requirements. In this format, the program ignores the check mark.

When the Use Canadian subtitles box is not checked,

·       The UN standard property order uses UN property names. For example, the UN description “Odor” replaces the Canadian description “Odour”.

·       The US-OSHA 2012 property order uses US-OSHA property names as they appear in Appendix D.

·       The Canada 2022 property order uses UN property names.

Section 15 – Regulatory information
Include NFPA and HMIS ratings as text only (no symbols)

If you have entered values into the NFPA triangle or the HMIS color rectangle on Tab "15.2 Regulatory", then the program normally prints the NFPA triangle and/or the HMIS rectangle as graphic images on the generated SDS.

If you would like the NFPA and HMIS information to appear on the generated SDS as text only (with no triangle or colored rectangle graphics), then check this box.

Merge separate listings for the same regulation

Tab "15.1 Regulatory" includes the Regulations table, containing rules, regulations and chemical "Right-to-Know" lists that may be relevant to the product.

When this box is checked, the program will combine multiple listings for the same regulation on the generated SDS. For example, more than one ingredient might be included on the "Massachusetts Right-to-Know Components" list; with this option, they would appear together on the SDS, in alphabetical order.

NOTE: The Merge if same button on Tab "15.1 Regulatory" performs a similar function, except that it updates the regulatory records permanently. This option makes no changes to the records.

Tab 2 — Style options


SDS generation options dialog, "Style options" (second) tab.

Rebuild style sheets (advanced topic)

When the Rebuild style sheets box is checked, the program automatically re-creates all style sheets used in the SDS according to your selection of font, font size reduction, and section header.

The SDScribe™ word processing area makes use of style sheets that are similar to those used in Microsoft® Word. After you generate the SDS, the name of each style sheet appears just above the ruler in the word processing area, in a drop-down menu. When you click into the SDS text, the drop-down menu will display the style sheet for the text where the cursor is located.


Style sheet display and drop-down menu.

You can take advantage of this feature to manually customize the style of the generated SDS. From the word processing area menu bar, select "Format -> Style sheets…" and click on the name of the style you wish to edit. Then click on the Edit button.

However, these manual style sheet customizations in the word processing area apply only to the SDS that you are generating. If you subsequently open another SDS, the customizations you made to style sheets in the previous SDS won't be available.

For this reason, it is best to keep the Rebuild style sheets box checked, and use the "SDS generation options" dialog to make font and header style choices. As long as you save the SDS record after generating the SDS, the program will "remember" your selections in the dialog for the next time you generate an SDS (for any SDS record).

In the "SDS generation options" dialog, if you change the font type, size reduction, or header colors, the program will automatically check the "Rebuild style sheets" box. If you then un-check the "Rebuild style sheets" box, then the program won't be able to implement the changes you selected.

Font options

Use an alternate font (default is Arial)

Selecting a font from the drop-down menu causes the SDS style sheets to incorporate the new font, rather than defaulting to Arial. With this option, the style sheets will always be rebuilt.

An alternate font may provide a look that is more suited to your company image. Some fonts may require more space in the larger sizes (for example, in document titles). After SDS generation, if the document titles are truncated or overrun the header area, then you may need to adjust the header margins used on page 2 and subsequent pages. The first page of the SDS does not actually place content into the header.

Reduce standard font sizes by ___ points

Select a number of point sizes (up to four) by which to reduce the font size on the main style sheets. For example, the standard font size for hazard classifications in Section 2 is 10 points. If you selected a reduction of 2 (points) from this menu, then the hazard classifications would appear on the generated SDS in 8-point text.

Case correction (English SDSs only)

This option does not apply to non-English SDSs. For details, refer to the background help on Tab "Build SDS".

Section header options

Use colors

The Text color, Background color, and Border color buttons in this option allow you to customize the sixteen main section titles of the SDS. If this option is not checked, then the main section titles will revert to black text on a white background. The “SECTION: Sample header” area (immediately above the buttons) provides a rough preview of the options you select.

Border rectangle ___ pts.

Check this box and select a point size for the program to draw a rectangle of the specified point thickness around the section titles, across the width of the page. The border rectangle replaces a horizontal separator line that would otherwise appear above each section title. The point thickness setting has no effect when the "Border rectangle" box is not checked.

Additional spacing ___ (~0.063 or higher to add space)

Specify a non-negative, numeric value in inches. When the "Border rectangle" box (the previous setting) is checked, a positive value enlarges the rectangle around the section headers.

When the "Border rectangle" box is not checked, a positive value moves the horizontal separator line further above the section header text. If you have also selected a background color, the text will be off-center, at the base of a horizontal bar; this is probably not a good design choice.


Example of selecting additional spacing and a background color, without the “Border rectangle” option. This combination is probably not a good design choice.

The additional spacing option needs a minimum of about 0.063 inches to function. Selecting a lower value disables additional spacing.

Page header options

Header style

This setting enables you to customize the appearance of the top of each page on the SDS.


Header style options menu.

At present, there are four document header styles available. The default style is Standard.

Compact


Compact header, first page


Compact header, subsequent pages

The Compact header includes a company logo on the left, but no company name. The product name is on the right. Below the product name are the words "SAFETY DATA SHEET" or "PRODUCT SAFETY DATA SHEET" (translated into the non-English language you selected). Version-related information can optionally appear below the “SAFETY DATA SHEET” text, if you have also checked the “SDS serial no., version, and issue date in header (also removes from footers)” box.

The same header motif is present on the first and subsequent pages.

Standard


Standard header, first page


Standard header, subsequent pages

The Standard header for the first page includes a company logo and company name, the words "SAFETY DATA SHEET" or "PRODUCT SAFETY DATA SHEET" (translated into the non-English language you selected), and the product name. All items are left-justified, except the optional version-related information, which is right-justified. Subsequent page headers include the (translated) words "SAFETY DATA SHEET" or "PRODUCT SAFETY DATA SHEET" and the name of the product, but don’t include the company name or logo.

Std no cmpny name 1


“Std no cmpny name 1” header, first page


“Std no cmpny name 1” header, subsequent pages

The Std no cmpny name 1 header is similar to the Standard header, except the company name does not appear on the first-page header.

Std no cmpny name 2


“Std no cmpny name 2” header, first page


“Std no cmpny name 2” header, subsequent pages

The Std no cmpny name 2 header is similar to the Std no cmpny name 1 header, except the product name on the first-page header appears on the same line with the words "SAFETY DATA SHEET" or "PRODUCT SAFETY DATA SHEET".

Carriage return after logo (“Standard” hdr. p.1 only, places company on a separate line)

Check this box if the program should insert a carriage return immediately after it places the company logo onto the SDS. This action should place the company name (the next item in a “Standard” header) below the logo, rather than to the lower right side of the logo.

If you have not selected “Standard” as the header style, then this checkbox will be disabled.

SDS serial no., version, and issue date in header (also removes from footers)

Check this box to place the user-assigned SDS serial number, version number, and date of issue in the header of each page. This option adds some height to the first-page header area, but not to subsequent pages. When this box is not checked, similar information will appear instead in the footer.

Company logo

Logo scaling ___ percent (zero for actual size, or range 20-200)

Use this option to change the size of the company logo appearing at the top of the SDS. Note that the actual size after scaling will vary with the size of the logo as you pasted it into Tab "1 Identification" or, absent its presence there, in the Preferences dialog.

If the logo is very large, it may be truncated or otherwise look odd on subsequent page headers, when you are using the Compact header format. You should experiment with different scaling percentages if the logo appearance is sub-par.

 

[rev. 6.24.2023]



[1] This shortcut is equivalent to clicking on the Help button on the entry form, and selecting “Background for this section”.

[2] In order to preserve style sheet revisions made manually in the word processing area, when you regenerate the same SDS after making changes elsewhere, you will need to uncheck the box "Rebuild style sheets" box in the SDS generation options dialog. A preferable approach is to change the settings in the SDS generation options dialog instead, because the program "remembers" those settings until you change them.

[3] The UN title for Section 1 is "SECTION 1: Identification". The EU/EEA title for Section 1 is "SECTION 1: Identification of the substance/mixture and of the company/undertaking". There are also minor differences in the title for Section 2: "SECTION 2: Hazard identification" (UN); "SECTION 2: Hazards identification" (ECHA); and "SECTION 2: Hazard(s) identification" (US-OSHA).

[4] Commission Regulation (EU) 2015/830 of 28 May 2015, amending Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council on the Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals (REACH). Annex II, Part B. Official Journal of the European Union, L 132/8, 29.5.2015.

[5] "Preparation of Safety Data Sheets for Hazardous Chemicals: Code of Practice". Safe Work Australia, Feb. 2016. Section 3.2.).

[6] Ibid.